Get on your Bike!

Got on the bike tonight.  Pumped up the rear tyre, attached the front and rear lights, got changed into suitable cycling attire and high viz stuff and set off.

I head off along the back and side roads towards the seafront, the main roads are a nightmare in the town, too busy with drivers who don’t really give a crap.  We have a great cycle lane system in Brighton, I love it as a cyclist and hate it as a motorist, both cyclists and motorist not giving a quarter.

The cycle lane at peak evening times is a bit like the M25, not really but its bloody busy both directions, not for the faint hearted.  Its funny really, the amount of cyclists out there with out lights or high viz or anything that may make them more visible, its ridiculous.

It feels great riding in the dark on the beach promenade, heading East no wind now after our storms, the street lights in the distance, the seafront buildings and the Palace Pier illuminate the sky as I scream along the cycle lane like a Tour de France domestic, “I wish”.  My breathing pretty good considering my fitness level.

I got to make the best of this cycling regime over the next few months, at least in this direction as these cycle lanes will be polluted with tourists who havn’t a clue that they are on the lane, cycling becomes a nightmare.  Anyway Iv’e reached West street, the main Road that leads the tourist from the beach back up to Brighton Station, from here the pier approaches with the new Brighton wheel strategically placed a few hundred yards along Madeira Drive.  The main seafront road is heaving with the evening rush hour traffic as I glide through past the wheel and along Madeira Drive towards the Marina.

Having not been along this road a night, I forgot just how seedy it is at night, for a split moment cycling along, I thought “the wrought iron arches that run the length of this stretch of road look great”, they are illuminated up with blue light which makes them look terrific, then it hit me, the blue light is for the benefit of the drug users that frequent these arches, that spoilt that illusion.  I got past the arches, now cyclists and pedestrians are few and far between it darker, no lighting but I can see the Marina in the distance, that’s my goal.

I knew this part of Brighton was strange, it has always had a bad reputation but when you drive by on the above road, you don’t take any notice of the goings on below. I turn around at the Marina car park and head back, shit there is a head wind, didn’t feel a thing going now I’m going back, its smacking me in the face.  The sworded area to my right is heaving with the night life, I can see and hear people mostly blokes on blokes going in and out of the bushes looking for their kicks I will leave it to your imagination.

The journey back was harder due to the head wind but the views of the town at night are brill, I really need a go on the Brighton Wheel soon, must book a ride.  I decided to take the main road from the front up Hove Street to Sackville road, risky business with the traffic, just got to take control now untill I turn in for my road.  Must do it again soon!

Look forward to your thoughts...

