The Cemetary

I took a little stroll with the “Jack” this afternoon, to Hove cemetery North side, to pay my respects to a very dear friend.  I went loaded with the camera for a reason “Not a morbid one”.  Brighton and Hove cemetery’s carry bag’s of history and my interest lay’s with a certain man.  I read a little bit about this man and where he was buried, that’s all I had to go on.  As you are all aware burial grounds are huge, so it took me many attempts to find the plot.

Picture Courtesy: UrbanPlumber

The flint Chapel on the South side heading east, Hove cemetery.

Picture Courtesy: UrbanPlumber

A couple of visitors enjoying the view’s of Hove from the Chapel.  The tower takes on a face like appearance, what do you think!

Picture Courtesy: UrbanPlumber

One of the Classical monuments in the cemetery.

Picture Courtesy: UrbanPlumber

This was the Grave that I was looking for.  Martin Leonard Landfried.

Picture Courtesy: UrbanPlumber

What was you doing at 15 yrs of age!  I don’t know where he was born ,but he was buried in Hove.  When Martin Leonard Landfried was just a lad, he sounded The Charge!  The Charge of the Light Brigade at Balaclava.  You couldn’t imaging what was going on in his head or what he saw that day…

Picture Courtesy: UrbanPlumber

This lad made it through the battle at Balaclava and survived to serve, in the Indian Mutiny and retired as a Trumpet Major.  Tennyson wrote, “into the valley of Death rode the six hundred“.  A lovely piece of history on my doorstep.  “God bless him”.

I shall add more to this blogg sometime.

26 responses to “The Cemetary

    • Thanks for the reply mommy! Cemetery’s do have their own beauty and can be creepy places for some. I like them for the peace, good places to walk the dog. A lot of tomb stones make interesting reading…

  1. I used to visit all old cemeteries on my travels in South Africa and also reflected on those young British soldiers fighting battles in strange lands and at such tender ages. This was a very moving article, about valor, thank you for sharing.

    • Thank you for looking in Cutlass2010, in the same cemetary, a memorial stands for a man who was struck down in Africa, interesting read, I will snap a photo and add it soon. My Great Grandfather served in the Kings Royal Riffles in the African conflict, Roukes Drift, Orange Free State, Transvaal etc. If he was killed, this post wouldn’t be!

  2. I like old cemeteries, but here in the Midwest I haven’t seen monuments of the like you have shown. I find old cemeteries are peaceful, as they should be.

    All these tales the movie industry have made about cemeteries are just that—tales—in my not-so-humble opinion.

    Also in my not-so-humble opinion, anyone who uses the word humble in reference to themselves, as in prayers, is not. But that’s just my not-so-humble opinion. 🙂

    No offense intended.

  3. I used to visit cemeteries all the time when I lived in the South. We have some out here, but it seems most Californians prefer cremation. I haven’t seen a funeral procession in years. In fact, I’ve never seen one in the 18 years I’ve been in San Diego.

    • Thanks for your comment, here in England, there are many such Town / Village cemeterys, all very similar. Funeral processions are still order of the day here as are cremations…
      Andy O.

  4. Hi Andy, enjoying your posts, you have found some interesting locations. Can I be so bold as to set you a challenge. The graveyard is fascinating subject matter. It would be really spooky and quite a challenge to take some night time photos! …. How about it?
    Regards
    John
    ….. and thanks for visiting my site at http://smithiesshutter.wordpress.com/
    … please make a comment, it would be good to throw ideas about …. John

    • Hi John, I glad your enjoying my posts, have not been at this too long, hope to improve in time. Thanks for the challenge, I will see what I can do! The cemetery that is my subject is locked up at night, surrounded by walls and a resident on site warden. So that would be the challenge! I may have to use an open Churchyard somewhere. Not worried about the spooky bit, its the night life living, that haunt these places, may be able to snatch a shot of them…Zombies!

      • Hi Andy, why not talk to the warden, he might be understanding and turn out to be helpful ….. you can only ask.

        Mmmm …. this has made me think. There are two old graveyards in Kirkcudbright where I live ….. I might take up the challenge myself! …. tombstones at dawn …

        Regards John

      • Hi John! love it, I shall enquire. I think of all the missed oppertunities Ive had over the years especially in the dark, when I have been working at some countryside churches around Sussex.

      • The mind boggles ….. I have checked ‘incidents in Sussex Churchyards’ but found nothing ….. grave robbing? witchcraft? the occult? …..
        … or perhaps just cutting the grass by moonlight … ?

  5. Your photography’s beautiful. I second and third folks here asking you to do more in cemeteries. I’m a bit of an addict myself.

    And hey, Cris, there are tons of gorgeous cemeteries in rural Missouri! It’s those little hidden gems out in the middle of nowhere that I like to find the most. Take a trip to St. Genevieve some time. Awesome.

  6. I simply love your story to go with your photographs. But what did ever happen with the ‘follow-up’ you promised and John Smith’s challenge? Sadly here in South India I do not have the opportunity, otherwise I would challenge both of you!! lol

    • Hi anyone4curryandotherthings, thanks for looking in and your kind comment. The follow-up will come! “never hurry a curry”. With the challenge thing? Not really my bag, however with the camera by my side, should I be passing a cemetary at night I will see what I can do… As you can see from my Blog, it is varied, I just shoot on the spur of the moment. Andy O.

Look forward to your thoughts...

